Don Marti | 14 Jun 20:08

Spam complying with CAN SPAM

Looks like the Marketing types of the world are
getting emboldened by our pro-spam FTC...
  http://weblog.infoworld.com/gripeline/archives/2008/06/ftc_says_yes_yo.html

I'm starting to see spam that looks like it traces
back to a semi-legit company.

Anyone else getting spam linking to disposable domain
names that copy the content from patchperfect dot
com -- with the company's actual contact info and an
apparently working unsubscribe link?

whois has officialtvwebsite822 dot com at the same
postal address as the original site:

6070 Mission Gorge Rd. Suite 1, San Diego, CA 92120.

Either this is a very good joe job, or it's another
attempt by DMA types to push the boundaries.

Looks like an opportunity for another Gevalia-style
lawsuit.  Of course, the infomercial impresarios
behind this grass seed company will start another
company selling something else, but there's probably
enough money to make it worthwhile for a small ISP
or mail host with a reasonably priced lawyer.

--

-- 
Don Marti                                               +1 415-734-7913 mobile
http://zgp.org/~dmarti/
(Continue reading)

Ruben Safir | 2 Oct 06:32

Re: Spam complying with CAN SPAM

On Sat, Jun 14, 2008 at 11:10:59AM -0700, Don Marti wrote:
> Looks like the Marketing types of the world are
> getting emboldened by our pro-spam FTC...
>   http://weblog.infoworld.com/gripeline/archives/2008/06/ftc_says_yes_yo.html
> 
> I'm starting to see spam that looks like it traces
> back to a semi-legit company.
> 
> Anyone else getting spam linking to disposable domain
> names that copy the content from patchperfect dot
> com -- with the company's actual contact info and an
> apparently working unsubscribe link?
> 
> whois has officialtvwebsite822 dot com at the same
> postal address as the original site:
> 

This is news?

Ruben

> 6070 Mission Gorge Rd. Suite 1, San Diego, CA 92120.
> 
> Either this is a very good joe job, or it's another
> attempt by DMA types to push the boundaries.
> 
> Looks like an opportunity for another Gevalia-style
> lawsuit.  Of course, the infomercial impresarios
> behind this grass seed company will start another
> company selling something else, but there's probably
(Continue reading)

Teh Entar-Nick | 2 Oct 11:31

Re: Spam complying with CAN SPAM

Ruben Safir:
> On Sat, Jun 14, 2008 at 11:10:59AM -0700, Don Marti wrote:
> > Looks like the Marketing types of the world are
> > getting emboldened by our pro-spam FTC...
> >   http://weblog.infoworld.com/gripeline/archives/2008/06/ftc_says_yes_yo.html
[snip]
> 
> This is news?
[snip]

You resurrected a one-post thread from JULY, and *this* was all you had
to add to it?  You didn't even tidy up the quoted matter!

--

-- 
"Forget the damned motor car                          Nick Moffitt
and build cities for lovers and friends."            nick <at> zork.net
       -- Lewis Mumford
Ben Finney | 2 Oct 16:12

Re: Spam complying with CAN SPAM

Teh Entar-Nick <nick <at> teh.entar.net> writes:

> Ruben Safir:
> [snip]
> > 
> > This is news?
> [snip]
> 
> You resurrected a one-post thread from JULY, and *this* was all you
> had to add to it? You didn't even tidy up the quoted matter!

Which seems to be Ruben's modus operandum. The elitist filters don't
catch 'em all, I guess.

--

-- 
 \         “A cynic is a man who knows the price of everything and the |
  `\                                   value of nothing.” —Oscar Wilde |
_o__)                                                                  |
Ben Finney

_______________________________________________
linux-elitists mailing list
linux-elitists <at> zgp.org
http://allium.zgp.org/cgi-bin/mailman/listinfo/linux-elitists

Gmane